PORTLAND, OR – Today NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon‘s Political Action Committee (PAC) proudly announces a slate of endorsements for 60 candidates seeking office in November’s election for the Oregon State Legislature, as well as local races in Deschutes, Clackamas, Lane, Marion, and Washington counties, Metro Council, and the city of Beaverton. The announcement comes on the heels of a successful primary, with seven endorsed candidates winning their races outright, including Carmen Rubio, the first Latina elected to Portland City Hall, and 45 candidates advancing from their respective primaries.

The endorsements come at a critical time, after reports of forced sterilizations at ICE detention centers in Georgia, the death of Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, and the failure of the courts to bring charges against the officers responsible for killing Breonna Taylor.

While our country grieves and works to support those most impacted by these events, it is also important to ensure Oregon elects leadership across all levels of government who are ready to fight for justice. Christel Allen, Executive Director of NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC, had this to say on the historic 2020 election:

“Reproductive freedom voters are powerful, and we can win these fights at the local, state, and national level, but we are going to need everyone to take action. There is so much at stake: racial justice, reproductive rights, immigrant justice, voting rights, environmental justice, ending police violence, and the Affordable Care Act. We know Oregonians will mobilize and will vote for their values this November. And we are thrilled to have 60 candidates ready to stand up to national and local assaults on our rights.”

NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon’s PAC Chair said, “Oregon voters look to trusted groups like ours before they cast their ballots and we take this responsibility seriously. Our organization is not a one-issue organization because people are not defined by one-issue. We are confident that this slate of endorsed candidates are committed to deepening their understanding of the important intersections at play in this election and will remain accountable to the communities that elect them this November by defending reproductive freedom for all.”

The following candidates have been endorsed in the 2020 general election. (Candidates not previously endorsed in the May 2020 Primary are in bold.)

Statewide Races
Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum
State Treasurer Tobias Read
Senator Shemia Fagan for Secretary of State

Oregon State Senate
Melissa Cribbins (D), SD-5
Deb Patterson (D), SD-10
Kate Lieber (D), SD-14
Senator Ginny Burdick (D), SD-18
Senator Kathleen Taylor (D), SD-21
Senator Michael Dembrow (D), SD-23
Representative Chris Gorsek (D), SD-25
Eileen Kiely (D), SD-27
Carina Miller (D), SD 30

Oregon House of Representatives
State Representative Pam Marsh (D), HD-5
State Representative Paul Holvey (D), HD-8
Cal Mukumoto (D), HD-9
State Representative David Gomberg (D), HD 10
State Representative Marty Wilde (D), HD-11
State Representative Nancy Nathanson (D), HD-13
State Representative Julie Fahey (D), HD-14
Miriam Cummins (D), HD-15
State Representative Dan Rayfield (D), HD-16
Jackie Leung (D), HD-19
State Representative Paul Evans (D), HD-20
State Representative Teresa Alonso León (D), HD-22
Lynnette Shaw (D), HD-24
Ramiro Navarro Jr. (D), HD-25
State Representative Courtney Neron, HD-26 (D), HD-26
State Representative Sheri Schouten (D), HD-27
Wlnsvey Campos (D), HD-28
State Representative Susan McLain (D), HD-29
State Representative Janeen Sollman (D), HD-30
Debbie Boothe Schmidt (D), HD-32
Representative Maxine Dexter (D), HD-33
State Representative Ken Helm (D), HD-34
Dacia Grayber (D), HD-35
Lisa Reynolds (D), HD-36
State Representative Rachel Prusak (D, HD-37
State Representative Andrea Salinas (D), HD-38
State Representative Mark Meek (D), HD-40
State Representative Karin Power (D), HD-41
State Representative Rob Nosse (D), HD 42
State Representative Tawna Sanchez (D), HD-43
Speaker of the House, State Representative Tina Kotek (D), HD-44
State Representative Barbara Smith Warner (D), HD-45
Khanh Pham (D), HD-46
State Representative Jeff Reardon (D), HD-48
Zach Hudson (D), HD-49
Ricki Ruiz (D), HD-50
State Representative Janelle Bynum (D), HD-51
State Representative Anna Williams (D), HD-52
Emerson Levy (D), HD-53
Jason Kropf (D), HD-54

Clackamas County
Kenneth Humberston, Clackamas County Commissioner, Position 4

Deschutes County
Phil Chang, Deschutes County Commissioner, Position 2

Lane County
Joel Iboa, Lane County Commissioner, Position 3 (dual endorsement)
Laurie Trieger, Lane County Commissioner, Position 3 (dual endorsement)

Washington County
Nafisa Fai, Washington County Commissioner District 1

Marion County
Ashley Carson Cottingham, Marion County Commissioner, Position 3

Mayor of Beaverton
City Councilor Lacey Beaty

Metro Council
Mary Nolan, Metro Councilor, Position 5

# # #

NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC works to elect pro-choice candidates at every level of government. Through our cultivation of true champions, NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon works to advance the most progressive pro-choice policies in the nation. We educate our members and identified supporters, provide strategic advice to candidates, mobilize get out the vote efforts, and ensure that pro-choice policies are a top priority in local and state government.

Back to News