PORTLAND, OR​ – ​NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon​‘s Political Action Committee (PAC) has released their full list of endorsements for Oregon’s May 19 Primary Election. The candidates, running at the local, legislative and statewide level, have proven themselves as champions for reproductive freedom who will uphold Oregon’s proud legacy as the most pro-choice state in the nation.

This announcement comes at a critical time, as the Supreme Court of the United States considers the first abortion-related case since Brett Kavanaugh’s confirmation. For the first time, the court includes a conservative anti-abortion majority could overturn Roe v. Wade. Last year, over 30 abortion bans passed across the United States. While Oregon saw 12 anti-abortion bills introduced during the 2019 Legislative Session, the pro-choice majorities Oregonians elected ensured that none of the bills received a vote in committee. While threats to reproductive freedom continue to mount, more than 7-in-10 voters believe Roe v. Wade must remain the law of the land, and are increasingly motivated to support candidates they can trust to uphold their values.

Congratulating the candidates on their endorsements, ​Andra Stoll Carrick, Interim Executive Director of NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC​, had this to say:

“Now more than ever, we need champions who understand that reproductive freedom is a basic human right. During this pivotal election, we are proud to support 56 pro-choice champions, including an outstanding number of candidates who identify as people of color, women, LGBTQ+, and/or young people. This list of candidates gives us hope for the future of reproductive equity in our state.”

Shauna Ballo, NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon’s PAC Chair ​said, “NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC is honored to support such an incredible group of candidates in 2020. In a year when many hoped to see more diversity among the pool of Presidential candidates, here in Oregon we have so many opportunities to support champions who will defend and expand reproductive freedom as well as diversify our state and local leadership.

A full list of candidates endorsed by NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC in the May Primary:

Statewide Candidates

Attorney General Ellen Rosenblum

Senator Shemia Fagan for Secretary of State

State Treasurer Tobias Read

Oregon State Senate:

Melissa Cribbins, SD-5

Deb Patterson, SD-10

Kate Lieber, SD-14

Senator Ginny Burdick, SD-18

Senator Kathleen Taylor, SD-21

Senator Michael Dembrow, SD-23

Representative Chris Gorsek, SD-25

Eileen Kiely, SD-27

Oregon House of Representatives

Representative Pam Marsh, HD-5

Representative Paul Holvey, HD-8

Representative David Gomberg, HD-10

Representative Marty Wilde, HD-11

Representative Nancy Nathanson, HD-13

Representative Julie Fahey, HD-14

Representative Dan Rayfield, HD-16

Representative Paul Evans, HD-20

Representative Teresa Alonso León, HD-22

Representative Courtney Neron, HD-26

Representative Sheri Schouten, HD-27

Wlnsvey Campos, HD-28

Representative Susan McLain, HD-29

Representative Janeen Sollman, HD-30

Christina Stephenson, HD-33 (dual endorsement)

Maxine Dexter, HD-33 (dual endorsement)

Representative Ken Helm, HD-34

Dacia Grayber, HD-35

Laurie Wimmer, HD-36

Representative Rachel Prusak, HD-37

Representative Andrea Salinas, HD-38

Representative Mark Meek, HD-40

Representative Karin Power, HD-41

Representative Rob Nosse, HD-42

Representative Tawna Sanchez, HD-43

Representative Barbara Smith Warner, HD-45

Khanh Pham, HD-46

Representative Jeff Reardon, HD-48

Ricki Ruiz, HD-50

Representative Janelle Bynum, HD-51

Representative Anna Williams, HD-52

Clackamas County

Jim Bernard, Chair, County Commissioner, Position 1

Martha Schrader, County Commissioner, Position 3

Kenneth Humberston, County Commissioner, Position 4

Lane County

Joel Iboa, Lane County Commissioner, Position 3 (dual endorsement)

Laurie Trieger, Lane County Commissioner, Position 3 (dual endorsement)

Multnomah County

Sharon Meieran, Multnomah County Commissioner, D-1

Jessica Vega Pederson, Multnomah County Commissioner, D-3

Lori Stegmann, Multnomah County Commissioner, D-4

Mike Schmidt, District Attorney

Washington County

Nafisa Fai, County Commissioner D-1

Mayor of Beaverton

City Councilor Lacey Beaty

Mayor of Eugene

Mayor Lucy Vinis

Portland City Council

Carmen Rubio, Position 1

Tera Hurst, Position 2


See NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC’s ​2020 Pro-Choice Voter’s Guide​ for more information.


NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon PAC​ works to elect pro-choice candidates at every level of government. Through our cultivation of true champions, NARAL Pro-Choice Oregon works to advance the most progressive pro-choice policies in the nation. We educate our members and identified supporters, provide strategic advice to candidates, mobilize get out the vote efforts, and ensure that pro-choice policies are a top priority in local and state government.

Back to News